Chamber announces annual excellence award winners

NACOGDOCHES, TEXAS – The Nacogdoches County Chamber executive committee named the recipients of the 2023 Gary Justice Business Excellence Awards, the Citizen of the Year, the Non Profit of the Year and a Lifetime Achievement Award. Each will be recognized at the chamber’s 101st Annual Meeting & Membership Banquet at The Fredonia Hotel and Convention Center on Tuesday, Sept. 26.

“The committee takes the job of evaluating the nominees for the awards seriously, and this year’s submissions were impressive,” said Chairman Dustin Beavers. “All have made positive impacts in our region, and we are ready to celebrate with the winning businesses and individuals. Annual banquet Chair Betty Shinn and her team are creating a premier event celebrating our chamber of commerce as the voice of the business community.”

Award recipients for 2023 are:

Woodland Hills Golf Club, Small Business of the Year – award sponsored by Commercial Bank of Texas, N.A.

UBank, Medium Business of the Year – award sponsored by Regions Bank.

Motorhomes of Texas, Large Business of the Year – award sponsored by R&K Distributors, Inc.

Dr. Steve Westbrook, Citizen of the Year – award sponsored by Tipton Ford Lincoln.

Solid Foundation Association, Non Profit of the Year – award sponsored by Charles Pool Real Estate, Inc.

Dr. Robert Lehmann – Lifetime Achievement Award.

The 2023 – 2024 chamber board of directors will be inducted during the annual meeting, and retiring directors will be recognized. Current Chairman Beavers will “pass the gavel” to incoming Chairman Dr. Ryan Head at the event.

For more information including table reservations and sponsorships, contact the Nacogdoches County Chamber of Commerce at 936-560-5533.