No one had to spell it out for the Professional Texans on Thursday. 

The team sponsored by Fredonia Brewery won the coveted Bee’s Knees trophy at Thomas J. Rusk Elementary’s Community-wide Spelling Bee. Danielle LaBauve was the top speller for the Texans, taking the individual award. She correctly spelled “dragée” for the win. (For those at home wondering… dragée is defined as a sugarcoated nut or candy; a small, beadlike piece of candy, usually silver-colored and used for decorating cookies, cakes; a sugarcoated medication.)

2 Pool 4 Skool swept the other team awards. Sponsored by Revolution Road Wood Fire Pizza, 2 Pool 4 Skool was named the Biggest Buzz for Most Team Spirit and grabbed the Oh, Honey Honey award for Best Costume.

The Community-wide Spelling Bee is a fundraiser for TJR. Twenty teams competed during the spelling bee:

The Spell Casters sponsored by Beauty Maxx – Delysse Taylor, Audrey Smith and Payton Pierce.

Spelling BEES sponsored by Etech – Jeffery Willoghby, Mark Strange, Mike Horton and Shanon Adams.

The Spellers sponsored by Dolli’s Diner – Kayla Escarcega, Kimberley Teas and Cortney Kuban.

The Professional Texans sponsored by Fredonia Brewery – Danielle LaBauve, Betty Jane and Meredith Janning.

The Hip Bees sponsored by Fredonia Hotel – Ella Furniss, Amaya Edwards and Charitee Meredith.

Slam Dunk Drones sponsored by Rex Perry Autoplex – Brycen Tolson, Jeremiah Swindle and McKay Heizes.

Bee-witched sponsored by Opifex – Abbi York, Addison Heath and Lindsey Grier.

To BEE or not to BEE sponsored by Blue Lotus Tattoo & Piercing – Morgan Matthews, Bella Dickson and Felicity Rosario.

1311 Ladies sponsored by Borders Poultry Supply – Maxi Abila, Devyn Baldwin and Madison Harris.

Phonetic Phoenixes sponsored by Monni Gary Texas Farm Bureau – Zachary Santos, Gezle Uson and Taylor Hart.

We NEVER Punt sponsored by Nacogdoches Eye Associates – Leon Venegas, Kamarion Gulley and Jackie Lewis.

Cool Zone sponsored by Strickland Plumbing & HVAC – Kameryn Strickland, Bryce Johnson and Kevin Strickland.

Egg-cellent Spellers sponsored by The Chism Family – Amy Chism, Michael Chism and Natosha Sandul.

Shark Attack sponsored by Boys & Girls Club – Holly Jaramillo, Stacy Davis and Lorena Reyes.

Bird is the Word sponsored by Cane’s – Ben Ghormley, Maverick Brazeal and Peyton Shofner.

S.W.A.T. sponsored by Excel ER – Lee Smith, Brett Ayres and Diego Barrios.

The Kicker Bees sponsored by Gound Chevrolet – Walker Oliver, Andrew Guardado and Erick Gutierrez.

The Spare Parts sponsored by Mike Perry Motors – Julie Derr, Mary Hawkins and Mallory LeCroy.

2 Pool 4 Skool sponsored by Revolution Road Wood Fire Pizza – Haylee Vose, Katie Cook and Margie Lewallen.

Drafty Dragons sponsored by Excel ER – Delayna Adams, Molly Pitts and Muhammad Hakim.